7th Annual Eastern Partnership Foreign Ministers’ meeting – reform progress on the agenda

Foreign Ministers from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine, as well as from the EU Member States gathered in Brussels today for the 7th annual Eastern Partnership (EaP) Foreign Ministers’ meeting. The meeting takes place exactly one year since the EaP Summit in Riga, and serves as a platform for discussing reform progress in the six countries and reaffirming the EU’s commitment to the region’s security, stability and prosperity, a press release from the EEAS said.

EU High Representative Federica Mogherini chairs the meeting. Johannes Hahn, the Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations is also present at the event.

According to the EEAS, reform remains at the heart of the EaP and the EU is committed to match each Partner’s own ambitions on their reform path. “For Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, this is set out in comprehensive Association Agreements. New agreements are foreseen with Armenia and Azerbaijan, while relations with Belarus are evolving,” the EU press release highlighted.

The Foreign Ministers’ meeting will define activities ahead of next year’s EaP Summit: from stepping up cooperation in areas that will deliver tangible benefits for citizens, including in education, training and research, to facilitating youth employability, innovation and entrepreneurship through the Erasmus+, Creative Europe and Horizon 2020 programmes, the EEAS said.


Source: EU Neighbourhood Info