40th Anniversary of EPP: Armenia-EPP Cooperation

On May 30 in Luxembourg the European People’s Party session took place, which was also attended by the Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan. The largest political party in Europe was founded in 1976 as a center-right force.

EPP is represented in all political institutions of the European Union, the members of the political party preside the European Council (8 of 28 members represent the EPP) and the European Commission (14 of 28 members). Since 1999, it is the largest faction in the European Parliament: currently represented by 265 deputies. The EPP is also a majority in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The party includes the European Christian-democratic, nationalist, conservative and other parties. It consists of 75 collective members and national political parties from 40 countries. Since 2013 the President of the EPP is Joseph Dole.

From Armenia in EPP 3 parties are represented – Republican party, National Revival and Heritage parties. These parties have joined the EPP on February 9, 2012 with the status of observer member.

The EPP, as an influential political union in Europe, contributes to the development and intensification of dialogue in Armenia-EU relations.

It should be noted that the presence of these parties in the EPP has a positive influence in promoting the priorities of Armenia’s foreign policy in the international organizations and on the international agenda in general. In particular, on March 3, 2015, during the political conference in Brussels “Armenian Genocide and the European Values” resolution dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide was adopted, which calls on Turkey to recognize the Armenian Genocide, as well as to provide financial and moral compensation.

European People’s Party has also expressed its stance on Azerbaijan’s aggression against Artsakh. “We consider it necessary to take immediate practical steps to halt military operations, withdraw military forces to their previous positions, which were located on April 1, 2016,” the resolution adopted by the EPP reads.