The Procedure of Adoption of Laws in Bundestag

On June 2, after the heated discussions, Germany’s Bundestag adopted a resolution recognizing the Armenian Genocide committed during the Ottoman Turkey.

It should be noted, that in Germany’s Bundestag the main preparatory work around the law, are being implemented by the parliamentary committees and during their sessions the political will is being agreed with the opinions of competent experts. The agreed draft law is then being presented to the voting of Bundestag.

In order to cast their votes MP’s are raising their hands or stand up. There can be a case, when the voting results are not clear or there is no unity about the voting results. In such situations MPs leave the plenary hall and re-enter through one of three doors designated for “yes”, “no”, or “abstention”.

Now, 5 parties are presented in the Bundestag. Those are the ruling coalition of Christian Democratic Union (255) and the social Democratic Union of Germany (193), “Alliance 90″/The Greens (63), the Left Party (64) and Christian Social Union of Bavaria.

The Bundestag is a constitutional and legislative body at the federal level in Germany. It is unicameral. Bundestag’s elections are conducted every 4 years. Each of the voters vote according to the two lists, which are majoritarian and proportional. Those political parties are being presented in the Parliament that have received at least 5% of the votes by the proportional system or have won at least in a 3 single-mandate district.

In Bundestag the number of seats of parties is determined in accordance with the votes received by the proportional system.

Bundestag adopts laws, holds federal chancellor elections and controls the activities of the government.