EU Leaders Sign New Declaration on EU Future

European Union leaders have stressed the need for unity at a celebration in the Italian capital marking 60 years since the Treaty of Rome was signed, BBC reports.

Twenty-seven European Union countries, not including the UK, signed a new declaration to honour the 1957 treaty, which led to the bloc’s foundation.

With Brexit looming, UK PM Theresa May is not attending the celebrations.

In a new Declaration of Rome, the 27 countries are reaffirming their shared desire to continue with what is a greatly expanded and deepened union.

The full text of the Declaration here.