Day of Artsakh Republic

The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic was proclaimed in the borders of the previous Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast and Shahoumian region during the joint session of the Nagorno Karabakh Oblast and Shahoumian regional councils of people’s deputies with the participation of deputies of councils of all levels. The Proclamation of Nagorno-Karabakh Republic was adopted in accordance with the legislation of the USSR, as well as with the right of people to self-determination enshrined in international documents.

Later, using the right of holding the referendum and raising the question of their legal status, enshrined in the Soviet Union’s legislation, the Council of the NKR People’s Deputies decided to hold a referendum on independence. Under the incessant bombardment of Armenian settlements via all types of weapons by the Azerbaijani side on December 10, 1991 referendum was held, in which, 82.2% of registered voters took part. The residents of Getashen sub-district also participated in this referendum, legally securing entry of this area into the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic.

The majority of those, who did not vote, were the inhabitants of Azerbaijani settlements. The ballot papers were printed in three languages ─ Armenian, Azerbaijani and Russian. 99, 89% of voters were in favor of NKR independence from Azerbaijan. The results of the referendum, its democracy and transparency have been confirmed by independent international observers.

Below is the full text of Declaration.