The election campaign the forthcoming presidential election in Armenia formally got underway on Monday.

Under the Electoral Code, the pre-election race commences on the seventh day following the deadline for the registration of candidates and finishes a day prior to the official voting date.

Earlier this month, the Central Election Commission registered eight candidates for the country’s presidential election scheduled for February 18.

The eight candidates running for election are incumbent President Serzh Sargsyan, former Prime Minister Hrant Bagratyan (Freedom party leader), former Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandyan, leader of the National Self-Determiniation Union party, Paruyr Hayrikyan, political analyst Andrias Ghukasyan, leader of the National Consent party, Aram Harutyunyan, and Vardan Sedrakyan.  Experts say that Sargsyan, who has been in office since 2008, remains the favorite in the race.

The Central Election Commission has already published a time-table for giving air time to the election runners.
The time-limits for the paid speech should not exceed 120 minutes and 180 minutes, respectively.

The election campaign season will come to an end on February 17 at midnight, local time.

The sixth presidential election in Armenia will be held on February 18, from 8am to 8pm.